September 11th: Ten Year Anniversary

It’s a sad day today. I’ve been anticipating it for a few weeks now, but didn’t expect to be so emotional. I’ve been watching NBC‘s coverage of the 9/11 tribute this morning, and it is intense. I didn’t realize they were going to call every single name of those who passed at ground zero on that horrible day. It’s been on my TV for a few hours now, and they’re only down to the last names that start with M. I’ve had to force myself to do things so I’m not just sitting there being reminded over and over again how much detriment this event caused. I still have the TV on the channel out of respect to those lost, but it’s almost unbearable, at this point, to continue dwelling in this misery. While I try not to focus on it, I have this thought in the back of my head that there are terrorists, overseas or maybe in our homeland, that must be watching this and just patting each other on the back. IT makes me feel so sick inside.

My Day September 11, 2001

My day started normal as any other day in a 15 year emotional girl’s life would. I was running late. At my school, the rule was if you were late to class, you stayed in ISS (in-school suspension) for the remainder of the period. I remember sitting there copying the text from a list of rules we were required to write over and over when suddenly, the social studies teacher from across the hall busted into our room and shouted “Someone hit the World Trade Centers!” Initially, I was startled because most of us were already scared to death to be at school anyway for fear of a Columbine-esqu attack, and when someone came busting in the room I thought this was the time that attack was coming. Anyway, we had access to local programming, so the teacher turned the TV on so we could see what was going on. I can’t remember if the bell had rang at this point or not. We were watching the WTC burn and listening to the reporters talk about what could possibly have caused this when all of a sudden, we see a plane crash into the second tower. We knew we were watching this live as the reporter who was on the mic shouted many expletives at the time it happened. I didn’t really understand what was going on, but I knew someone was attacking America. I moved on to my next class, French 100. By the time I made in down the stairs and over one hall, the entire school was panicking. There were so many kids with parents who were supposed to be at the World Trade Centers that day.

I remember sitting on top of my desk looking at the TV and just thinking in my mind that I needed to get out of the school. I needed to find my brother and we needed to go home.

By the time the pentagon attack happened, my school had made the announcement to lock all the doors and shut down the televisions. When they did, pretty much all hell broke loose in my classroom. Our teacher wasn’t very intimidating normally, so when she told us we were going to have to continue with our day as normal, we all basically just laughed in her face. I kept thinking “What should I do?, What should I do?” I had no idea. This was something that none of the peers around me or myself had ever experienced or anticipated, nor even could conceive of or comprehend what had actually been done.  This was the beginning of a major wake up call to all of us. I knew about wars and had heard of terrorists, but the environment I was brought up around made me believe that America was untouchable. It made me blind to the war and suffering of the outside world which I considered at that point outside the world [of America]We we found out on September 11, 2001 that America was very touchable. The terrorists touched all of us that day and the impression will last forever.

Well, they’ve managed to make it to the names that start with R. It’s so sad to hear this all. All two thousand, seven hundred, thirty-five names.

Leave Your Thoughts

